Einführung

Die Power-Delivery-Netzwerke (PDNs) komplexer, tief eingebetteter Systeme umfassen oft zahlreiche Stromschienen mit mehreren Spannungen und stark variierenden Stromanforderungen. Ein wichtiger Teil der Systemvalidierung und -beseitigung besteht darin, die Reaktion einer einzelnen Stromschiene auf das plötzliche Anlegen einer Last zu bewerten und die Reaktion mehrerer Schienen unter solchen Umständen zu untersuchen. In dieser Application Note besprechen wir die Verwendung der 12-Bit-High-Definition-Oszilloskope von Teledyne LeCroy zur Analyse des Einschwingverhaltens von Stromschienen in PDNs.

Warum das Einschwingverhalten von Power-Rails wichtig ist

Wenn eine Gleichstromquelle einen Anstieg des Strombedarfs sieht, der von einer Last auferlegt wird, sinkt ihre Ausgangsspannung in Korrelation mit der Größe des erforderlichen Stroms. Wenn die Laststromtransiente langsam ansteigt und abfällt, ist die Regelrückkopplungsschleife des Netzteils normalerweise in der Lage, die Nennausgangsspannung zu regeln und aufrechtzuerhalten. Wenn der Strom jedoch schnell ansteigt, fällt die Ausgangsspannung stark ab und braucht einige Zeit, um sich zu erholen.

Bei der Analyse des Einschwingverhaltens der Stromschiene umfassen die in Abbildung 1 gezeigten Interessenbereiche:

  • Bahnverhalten im stationären Zustand im unbelasteten Zustand: mittlere Spannung und Welligkeitsamplitude
  • Sprungantwort: Droop, Erholungszeit und Einschwingzeit
  • Schienenverhalten im stationären Zustand bei angelegter Last: mittlere Spannung und Welligkeitsamplitude

Abbildung 2 zeigt ein repräsentatives Blockdiagramm eines eingebetteten Systems. Das abgetastete Signal könnte beispielsweise der Ausgang eines der Abwärts-DC/DC-Wandler oben rechts sein. Zur Überwachung der Schienenspannung ist der Leistungs-/Spannungsschienentastkopf RP4030 von Teledyne LeCroy eine gute Option. Für den Schienenstrom könnte man eine Stromsonde verwenden oder die Spannung über einem Shunt-Widerstand messen.

Mit 12-Bit-High-Definition-Oszilloskopen stehen mehrere Ansätze zur Quantifizierung und Analyse des Einschwingverhaltens von Schienen zur Verfügung. Dazu gehören Cursor, Zoomspuren mit Messungen und die Verwendung des Digital Power Management-Anwendungspakets von Teledyne LeCroy.

Analyse mit Cursorn

Zur Durchführung von stationären Messungen mit Cursorn müssen diese einfach an den entsprechenden Positionen auf der erfassten Wellenform platziert werden. In Abbildung 3 wird beispielsweise die Welligkeit in einem stationären Zustand ohne Last gemessen, indem die Cursor auf beobachtete Spitzen gesetzt und die Differenz subtrahiert wird. Cursor können in ähnlicher Weise verwendet werden, um die Mittelspannung im stationären Zustand ohne Last zu messen, obwohl dies keine genaue Methode ist. Gleiches gilt für die Messung von Restwelligkeit und Mittelspannung im Lastzustand sowie für Spannungsabfall.

Man kann auch Transientenmessungen mit Cursorn vornehmen. Beispielsweise ist die Erholungszeit der Stromschiene, wie lange es dauert, bis die Schienenspannung auf einen bestimmten Prozentsatz des endgültigen Spannungspegels zurückkehrt. Im Beispiel von Abbildung 4 haben wir 10 % ausgewählt. Beachten Sie, dass das Cursor-Delta von 3.1 mV 10 % eines zuvor gemessenen Spannungsabfallwerts von 31 mV ist. Die Einschwingzeit – die Zeit, die die Schienenspannung benötigt, um sich auf ihre endgültige Amplitude einzupendeln – kann auf ähnliche Weise gemessen werden.

Analyse mit Zooms und Parametermessungen

Die Verwendung der Zoom-Funktion des Oszilloskops ermöglicht eine bessere Sichtbarkeit des hochfrequenten Signalverhaltens. Außerdem ermöglichen Zooms, indem sie auf einen ausgewählten Teil der erfassten Wellenform zielen, die Begrenzung von Parametermessungen auf Teilmengen der vollständigen Erfassung. Beispielsweise zeigt Abbildung 5 Spannungs- und Stromwellenformen (jeweils oben links und unten links) und entsprechende Zoomspuren der hervorgehobenen lastfreien Abschnitte von beiden (jeweils oben rechts und unten rechts). Bei der pk-pk-Parametermessung sehen wir die Welligkeit im gezoomten stationären Teil der Spannungswellenform oben rechts (Z5). Ebenso zeigt die mittlere Spannungsparametermessung den Mittelwert nur des gezoomten Teils. Dieser Ansatz ermöglicht die ausgeklügelten Funktionen der integrierten Messparameter des Oszilloskops, während die Zoomfunktion verwendet wird, um den interessierenden Bereich für die Messung präzise auszuwählen.

Die gleichen Messungen können für den Lastzustand durchgeführt werden, indem die Zoomspuren aus dem relevanten Teil der Erfassung genommen werden (Abbildung 6). Für den transienten Teil derselben Spannungswellenform ermöglichen mehrere Zoom-Kurven die Subtraktion der minimalen Droop-Messung von der mittleren Spannung des unbelasteten Teils (Abbildung 7).

Ein ähnlicher Ansatz kann für die Messung der Erholungszeit der Schiene gewählt werden (Abbildung 8). In diesem Fall ist der Mittelwert der Wiederkehrspannung in der gezoomten Kurve etwas besser abzuschätzen; dies gilt auch für die Messung der Spannungseinschwingzeit.

Analyse mit dem Anwendungspaket Digital Power Management

Das verfügbare Anwendungssoftwarepaket Digital Power Management (DPM) für die 12-Bit-High-Definition-Oszilloskope von Teledyne LeCroy bietet zahlreiche Vorteile, darunter vereinfachte Analysen, verbesserte Messungen und tiefere Einblicke in das PDN-Verhalten. Typische Spannungsreglermodul(VRM)-Geräte weisen Verhaltensweisen wie Welligkeit auf, die sich periodisch bei der Schaltfrequenz verhalten. Mit der Digital Power Management-Software können Benutzer einen Takt oder ein anderes Synchronisationssignal bereitstellen, um einfache Messungen und Analysen „pro Zyklus“ zu ermöglichen (Abbildung 9). Innerhalb des DPM-Pakets haben Benutzer einfachen Zugriff auf häufig gemessene Parameter für den Schienenstrom und die Schienenspannung wie VRMS, Standardabweichung, Mittelwert, Pk+, Pk-, Pk-pk und Frequenz (Abbildung 10).

Eine leistungsstarke Funktion des DPM-Pakets sind Zoom+Gate-Messungen, die eine einfache Begrenzung von Parametermessungen auf den gezoomten Teil der erfassten Wellenform ermöglichen. Im Beispiel von Abbildung 11 liefern die in der Messtabelle angezeigten Mittel- und Pk-Pk-Werte Spannungs- und Welligkeitsmessungen für den stationären, unbelasteten Bereich der Wellenform. Dieselbe Messung kann für den stationären Zustand mit vorhandener Last vorgenommen werden, indem in diesen Bereich der Wellenform gezoomt wird.

Ein weiteres leistungsstarkes Analysetool sind berechnete Wellenformen. Wenn man beispielsweise den mittleren Spannungswert der Spannung an einer Stromschiene messen würde, würde eine berechnete Wellenform von Messwerten „pro Zyklus“ zeigen, wie sich die mittleren Spannungen im Laufe der Zeit ändern (Abbildung 12). „Zyklus“ wird durch das angelegte Takt- oder andere Synchronisationssignal definiert. Eine berechnete Wellenform macht die Bestimmung von Erholungs- und Einschwingzeiten viel einfacher und präziser.

Multiple-Rail-Analyse

Häufig umfassen eingebettete Systeme mehrere Stromschienen, deren Verhalten eng miteinander gekoppelt sein kann oder nicht. Wenn eine dieser Schienen plötzlich eine Lastfreigabe erfährt, die ein transientes Ereignis verursacht, leiden die anderen Stromschienen im System unter irgendwelchen Auswirkungen (Abbildung 13)?

Die 12-Bit-High-Definitions-Oszilloskope von Teledyne LeCroy liefern in Verbindung mit der verfügbaren DPM-Software tiefere Einblicke, als dies mit Zoom-Kurven möglich ist, indem berechnete Wellenformen mittlerer Spannungswerte „pro Zyklus“ auf anderen Schienen aufgetragen werden.

Im Beispiel von Abbildung 14 wird die Last auf einer Spannungsschiene schnell abgebaut – dies ist am Stromverlauf an C8 (orange) und am Spannungsverlauf an C5 (hellgrün) zu erkennen. Die Signale an C1 – C4 sind die Spannungen, die an drei anderen Stromschienen im System vorhanden sind. Die berechneten Wellenformen „pro Zyklus“ von den C1-C4-Schienen zeigen eine Änderung der Mittelspannungswerte zum Zeitpunkt eines transienten Ereignisses, aber die Mittelwerte ändern sich um weniger als 1 mV. Währenddessen nimmt das Rauschen an der 12-V-Versorgung (lila C6), gemessen als Standardabweichung der Ausgangsspannung, deutlich ab, wenn die Last freigegeben wird (Abbildung 15). Die Spitze-zu-Spitze-Spannung auf der Taktwellenform nimmt ebenfalls ab.

Fazit

Mit Werkzeugen wie Cursors, Zoomspuren und Parametermessungen und dem verfügbaren Digital Power Management-Softwarepaket, das Zoom+Gate-Funktionen und berechnete Wellenformen basierend auf „pro Zyklus“-Werten bereitstellt, Teledyne LeCroy's 12-Bit-High-Definition-Oszilloskope liefern aussagekräftige Einblicke in das transiente Verhalten von Power-Delivery-Netzwerken in eingebetteten Systemen.

Introduction

The power-delivery networks (PDNs) of complex, deeply embedded systems often comprise numerous power rails at several voltages with widely varying current demands. An important part of system validation and debug is to evaluate a single power rail’s response to the sudden application of a load, and to look into the response of multiple rails in such circumstances. In this Application Note, we will discuss the use of Teledyne LeCroy’s 12-bit High Definition oscilloscopes to analyze power-rail transient response in PDNs.

Why Power-Rail Transient Response Matters

When a DC power source sees an increase in current demand imposed by a load, its voltage output will droop in correlation with the size of the required current. If the load current transient rises and falls slowly, the power supply’s regulation feedback loop will usually be able to regulate and maintain the nominal output voltage. But if the current rises rapidly, the output voltage will drop sharply and take some period of time to recover.

Figure 1: Analysis of power-rail transient response includes steady-state rail behavior (loaded/unloaded) and step response

In the analysis of power-rail transient response, the areas of interest, shown in Figure 1, include:

  • Steady-state rail behavior in no-load condition: mean voltage and ripple amplitude
  • Step response: droop, recovery time, and settling time
  • Steady-state rail behavior with load applied: mean voltage and ripple amplitude

Figure 2: In a typical embedded system, signals of interest might include, for example, the outputs of the buck DC-DC converters at top right

Figure 2 shows a representative block diagram of an embedded system. The signal being probed might be, for example, the output of one of the buck DC-DC converters at top right. To monitor the rail voltage, a good option is Teledyne LeCroy’s RP4030 power/voltage rail probe. For rail current, one might use a current probe, or probe the voltage across a shunt resistor.

Figure 3: Ripple measurements in a steady-state, no-load condition can be made by placing cursors on the observed peaks and subtracting for the difference

There are several approaches available with 12-bit, High Definition oscilloscopes for quantifying and analyzing rail transient response. These include cursors, zoom traces with measurements, and using Teledyne LeCroy’s Digital Power Management application package.

Analysis Using Cursors

Performing steady-state measurements with cursors is simply a matter of placing them in the appropriate positions on the acquired waveform. In Figure 3, for example, ripple is measured in a steady-state, no-load condition by placing the cursors on observed peaks and subtracting for the difference. Cursors may be used in similar fashion to measure steady-state, no-load mean voltage although it is not a precise method. The same holds for measuring ripple and mean voltage in a load-present condition as well as for voltage droop.

Figure 4: Use cursors to take transient measurements such as recovery and settling time

One may also take transient measurements with cursors. For example, the power rail’s recovery time is how long it takes for the rail voltage to return to a given percentage of the final voltage level. In the example of Figure 4, we selected 10%. Note that the cursor delta of 3.1 mV is 10% of a previously measured voltage droop value of 31 mV. Settling time—the time it takes for rail voltage to settle to its final amplitude—can be measured in similar fashion.

Figure 5: Zoom traces provide greater visibility into high-frequency signal behavior, and also enable limiting of parameter measurements to subsets of the full acquisition

Analysis Using Zooms and Parameter Measurements

Using the oscilloscope’s Zoom function facilitates better visibility into high-frequency signal behavior. Also, by homing in on a selected portion of the acquired waveform, zooms enable limiting of parameter measurements to subsets of the full acquisition. For example, Figure 5 shows voltage and current waveforms (top left and bottom left, respectively) and corresponding zoom traces of the highlighted no-load portions of both (top right and bottom right, respectively). With the pk-pk parameter measurement, we see the ripple in the zoomed steady-state portion of the voltage waveform at top right (Z5). Likewise, the mean voltage parameter measurement shows the mean value of only the zoomed portion. This approach enables the sophisticated capabilities available in the oscilloscope’s built-in measurement parameters, while using the Zoom function to precisely select the area of interest for the measurement.

Figure 6: As with the no-load traces shown in Figure 5, zoom traces can be applied to load-present portions of power-rail acquisitions

The same measurements can be taken of the load-present condition by taking the zoom traces from the relevant portion of the acquisition (Figure 6). For the transient portion of the same voltage waveform, multiple zoom traces allow subtraction of the minimum droop measurement from the mean voltage of the no-load portion (Figure 7).

Figure 7: Multiple zoom traces enable subtraction of the minimum droop measurement from the mean voltage of the no-load portion

Figure 8: Zoom traces make it easier to estimate the mean value of a rail’s recovery time

A similar approach can be taken to measurement of the rail’s recovery time (Figure 8). In this case, the mean value of the recovering voltage is somewhat easier to estimate in the zoomed trace; this also applies to measurement of the voltage settling time.

Analysis Using Digital Power Management Application Package

The available Digital Power Management (DPM) application software package for Teledyne LeCroy’s 12-bit High Definition oscilloscopes has numerous benefits, including simplified analysis, improved measurements, and deeper insight into PDN behavior. Typical Voltage Regulator Module (VRM) devices have behaviors such as ripple that behave periodically at the switching frequency. The Digital Power Management software lets users provide a clock or other synchronizing signal to enable easy “per-cycle” measurements and analysis (Figure 9). Within the DPM package, users have easy access to commonly measured parameters for both the rail current and rail voltage such as VRMS, standard deviation, mean, Pk+, Pk-, pk-pk, and frequency (Figure 10).

Figure 9: “Per-cycle” measurements and analysis require a clock or other sync signal

A powerful capability of the DPM package is Zoom+Gate measurements, which enables simple limiting of parameter measurements to the zoomed portion of the acquired waveform. In the example of Figure 11, the Mean and Pk-Pk values shown in the measurement table provide voltage and ripple measurements for the steady-state, no-load region of the waveform. The same measurement may be taken for the steady-state, load-present condition by zooming into that region of the waveform.

Figure 10: Within the DPM package, parameter measurements are readily available

Figure 11: Zoom+Gate measurements limit parameter measurements to zoomed portions of waveforms; in this example, the mean and pk-pk voltage values are for the steady-state, no-load portion

Yet another powerful analysis tool is calculated Waveforms. For example, if one were measuring the mean voltage value of the voltage on a power rail, a calculated Waveform of “per-cycle” measurement values would show how the mean voltages changes over time (Figure 12). “Cycle” is defined by the applied clock or other sync signal. A calculated Waveform makes determination of recovery and settling times much easier and more precise.

Figure 12: With calculated Waveforms, it’s easy to see how a measured value changes over time

Multiple-Rail Analysis

Often, embedded systems comprise multiple power rails whose behaviors may or may not be closely coupled to one another. When one of those rails suddenly experiences a load release that causes a transient event, do the other power rails in the system suffer any effects (Figure 13)?

Figure 13: When one rail voltage spikes because its load turns off, what happens to other rails in the system?

Teledyne LeCroy’s 12-bit High Definitions oscilloscopes, coupled with its available DPM software, delivers deeper insight than is possible with zoom traces by plotting calculated waveforms of “per-cycle” mean voltage values on other rails.

Figure 14: In this example, calculated Waveforms show a change in mean-voltage values due to a transient event, but the mean values change relatively little

In the example of Figure 14, the load on one voltage rail is quickly released – this can be seen in the current waveform on C8 (orange) and the voltage waveform on C5 (light green). The signals on C1 – C4 are the voltages present on three other power rails in the system. The calculated “per-cycle” Waveforms from the C1-C4 rails do show a change in mean-voltage values at time of a transient event, but mean values change less than 1 mV. Meanwhile, noise on the 12V supply (purple C6), measured as the standard deviation of the output voltage, decreases notably as the load is released (Figure 15). The peak-to-peak voltage on the clock Waveform also decreases.

Figure 15: Noise on the 12-V power supply, measured as the standard deviation of the output voltage, decreases notably as the load is released

Conclusion

With tools such as cursors, zoom traces and parameter measurements, and the available Digital Power Management software package that provides Zoom+Gate capabilities and calculated waveforms based on “per-cycle” values, Teledyne LeCroy’s 12-bit High Definition oscilloscopes deliver powerful insight into the transient behavior of power-delivery networks in embedded systems.